
 
PRACTICE TEST #1 

1.  R1, R3, one out. The batter flies out for the second out; the runner at third tags legally after 
the catch. R1 attempts to retouch before the throw from the outfielder reaches F3 but does not get 
back in time. R3 touches home plate before the throw from the outfield is touched by F3. The 
play at first base is a force play? 

 

A. True, the run does not score.

B. False, the run does not score.

C. False, score R3. 
 

 
2.   R1, one out. The batter singles sharply to center. F5 tags out R1 as he slides into third but 
obstructs R1 by blocking third base without having possession of the ball. The umpire properly 
declares, "that’s obstruction." F5 then throws to F4 covering second base and the BR is caught in 
a rundown between first and second. F3 tags out the BR and then throws home to F2 who tags 
out R1, who had broken for home during the rundown. 

 

A. R1 is awarded home and the BR is awarded second.

B. R1 is awarded home the BR is declared out. 

C. R1 and the BR are both declared out. 

D. R1 is awarded third and the BR is awarded first. 
 

 
3.   R2, one out. The batter has just faked a bunt and the count is now 1-1. The catcher is 
attempting to return the pitch to the pitcher when the return toss hits the batter's bat and goes into 
centerfield. R2 attempts to advance, touches third base and advances to the plate where he is 
thrown out by a wide margin. The hitter has done everything legally and was completely in his 
batter's box at the time the return throw hit his bat. There was no intent to interfere. 

 

A. Call interference on the batter and call him out. Umpires cannot rule on intent. Return 
R2 to 2nd base. 

B. This is not interference. The ball remains in play and the result of the play stands. 

C. This is not interference. The ball becomes dead when it goes into center field. Award R2 
home. 

D. This is a form of interference that carries no penalty. 
 

 
4.   R2, two outs. B4 singles. The batter has touched first at the time of the release by the 
outfielder. The catcher is in possession of the ball when R2 knocks the ball out of the catcher's 
glove during the slide and the ball goes into a dead ball area. All aspects of the play at the plate 
were legal. B4 takes second on the relay to the plate. After the ball is released by the outfielder 
and prior to the play at the plate, B4 has touched second base. Place the runners. 
 

A. R2 scores and B4 is awarded home. 

B. R2 is out for contact at the plate, third out and no need to place B4. 

C. R2 scores and B4 is awarded third. 

D. R2 scores and B4 remains at second. 
 

 



5.   The batter hits a home run over the fence. As the batter-runner rounds third base, his coach 
informs him that he failed to touch second base. The BR retouches third, returns to retouch 
second and then proceeds back to touch third and then touches home. 

 

A. Even if the defense appeals, the run will count and the appeal will not be allowed by the 
umpires. 

B. When the ball is dead, a runner may not return to touch a missed base. On a proper 
appeal, the batter will be declared out for missing second and the run will not count. 

C. The defense is not allowed to appeal the batter's missing second base. 

D. Even after touching third base, the batter may still return to retouch second base and no 
appeal will be allowed. 

 

 
6.   A batter draws a base-on-balls and proceeds to first base. His head coach realizes that the 
player at first base was not the proper batter and calls it to the umpire’s attention before the 
defensive manager can.  
 

A. As the ump, you allow the offensive man. to put the proper player on base at first base. 

B. The defensive manager has a valid appeal if the appeal is made prior to the next pitch or 
play. 

C. Once the improper batter has touched first base, no appeal may be made. 

D. Either the defensive or offensive team may bring it to the attention of the umpire. 
 

 
7.   R3, one out. The batter attempts a squeeze bunt. The pitcher, realizing he does not have a 
play at the plate tries to throw out the batter-runner. His throw hits the batter-runner in the back 
while he is running entirely in fair territory. The batter-runner is declared out for interference. 
The runner from third had touched the plate before the thrown ball hit the batter-runner. 
 

A. The batter-runner is out and R3 is returned to third. 

B. The batter-runner is out and R3's run counts. 

C. The batter-runner is not out because of the intervening play rule
 

 
8.  The leadoff batter walks and the next batter singles, advancing the leadoff hitter to second 
base. The first pitch to the next batter, who is an improper batter, is a wild pitch. Both runners 
move up on the wild pitch. At this time, the defensive head coach appeals the batting out of order 
infraction. 
 

A. The proper batter is called to the plate with a 0-0 count and the advance by both runners 
is allowed to stand. 

B. The improper batter is called out but the advances made by the base runners is allowed to 
stand. 

C. The proper batter is called to the plate with a 1-0 count and the advances by both base 
runners is nullified. 

D. The proper batter is called to the plate with a 1-0 count and the advances by both base   
runners is allowed. 

 

 


